Friday, March 23, 2012

Another busy week around the office

Not only are we busy with a number of exciting new projects this week, but our staff members are also busy demonstrating passion and leadership in other ways.  Some examples --

Bruce Powell
Bruce C. Powell, P.E., with Commonwealth in Roanoke, has been elected as a Member-at-Large of the Virginia Mountain Section of IEEE.  Bruce is a proud military father whose son has courageously been serving our country in the Middle East.  In addition to his degree from Old Dominion, Bruce also graduated from Virginia Polytechnic Institute (VA Tech), where he was a member of the Corps of Cadets.  He has over 30 years of experience in the design of protection and control and relay settings for high-voltage electric facilities.  

A Senior Member of IEEE, and Power Society Member for over 36 years, Bruce has served as Chairman of the Richmond Section and Vice-Chairman of the Worchester Section.  Bruce also chaired the ABET Advisory Council for Virginia State University's Engineering Department for 12 years and served on the Advisory Council for Virginia Commonwealth University for 3 years.

Ian Hutt
Electrical engineer, Ian Hutt, is speaking at Central Michigan University today as part of their Engineering & Technology Alumni Career Day.  A 2007 grad, Ian is joined here at Commonwealth by fellow CMU alum Chris Nelson, and Commonwealth intern, Nick Prawdzik, who will be joining us after graduation.  The founder of the college's IEEE Student Chapter, Ian was the first electrical engineer to come out of CMU's program.  

Ian and Mrs. Hutt recently welcomed a son, William.

2011-2012 men's ice hockey team 
Commonwealth's men's ice hockey team wrapped up another exciting season with Game 27 this week.  Word is they didn't shatter their previous 16-10-1 record, but they are ready to come back strong and give it another go next season.  This season's roster included: Brandon Flager (goalie), Dan Agnello, Ryan Agnello, Mike Sokoll, Brian Schultz, Ken Wynychuk, Steve Arnold, Keith Schultz, Brian Wynychuk, Matt Halmekangas, Scott Czarnik, Brandon Houchin, Scott Marlett, and Andrew Bertke.  


No comments:

Post a Comment